Property Taxes In Orange County Florida
Property Taxes In Orange County, Florida
Though the state government does not collect any property taxes, local governments receive much of their funding through these taxes. These rates are assessed at the local level and can vary by county, and they are based on the value of the property. Here is some helpful information below from Lineage Real Estate on property taxes in Orange County Florida.
The Property Appraiser approves all property tax exemptions, including Homestead Exemption, Widow/Widower Exemption, Disability Exemption, Senior Exemption and Military Exemption for property taxes in Orange County, Florida
Real Estate and Tangible Personal Property tax rolls are prepared by the Orange County Property Appraiser’s Office. The Property Appraiser determines the ownership, mailing address, legal description and value of property in Orange County, Florida.
November 1 . First day to pay taxes and assessments
Before March 1. File for new exemptions with the Property Appraiser.
March 31. Last day to pay taxes and assessments without penalty.
April 1. Unpaid real estate taxes are delinquent (3% minimum mandatory charge plus fees will be imposed). Unpaid tangible personal property taxes are delinquent (interest accrues at rate of 1.5% per month plus advertising and fees). Tax warrants are issued for all unpaid tangible personal property taxes.
April 30. Deadline for Installment Plan Application.
May 30, 5PM. Last day to pay real estate taxes without a lien.
Interested In Searching Orange County Properties? Check The Inventory Here
Property Tax Exemptions
Homestead Exemptions are available on primary residences in Florida. These exemptions can be available up to $50,000. However, only the first $25,000 of this exemption applies to all taxes. The remaining $25,000 only applies to non-school taxes.
Widow(er) Exemptions of $500 are available to widows and widowers who have not remarried. If you were divorced at the time of your ex-spouseâ€™s death, you do not qualify for this exemption.
Senior Citizen Exemptions are available in certain counties and cities only. They are valued up to $50,000 for residents 65 years old and older who have gross income below $20,000 in 2001 dollars, adjusted for inflation. This exemption is in addition to the Homestead Exemption.
Blind Person Exemptions of $500 are available to Floridians who are legally blind.
Total and Permanent Disability Exemptions are available for homeowners who have a total and permanent disability. Quadriplegics who use their property as a homestead are exempt from all property taxes. Others who must use a wheelchair for mobility or are legally blind and have a gross income below $14,500 in 1991 dollars, adjusted for inflation, can be exempt from all property taxes as well.
Veterans Exemptions exist in a number of different forms.
- A veteran documented as disabled by 10% or more in war or service-connected events can earn an additional exemption of $5,000 on any owned property.
- An honorably discharged veteran who is totally and permanently disabled or requires a wheelchair for mobility due to their service can be exempt from all property taxes. In some circumstances, this benefit can be transferred to a surviving spouse.
- An honorably discharged and disabled veteran who is 65 or older who was a Florida resident when they entered military service may be eligible for an additional exemption. The disability must be permanent and must have been acquired as a result of the military service. The property tax will be discounted based on the percent of the disability.
- Members of the military deployed during the last calendar year can receive exemptions based on the percent of time during the year they were deployed.